December 3 is International Day of Persons with Disabilities. This purpose of this day is to promote people’s understanding of the issue of disabilities, as well as mobilize their support for the dignity, rights, and happiness of persons with disabilities.

On this day, we had a chat with Marina, Director of Training and Development at Inclusion Factory, who took us on a short journey to get to know and understand “them”:

 

As the first factory set up by a German corporation in China for the welfare of persons with disabilities, the Inclusion Factory has committed itself to providing job opportunities for persons with intellectual disabilities and supporting them to be better included in the society.


Today, there are 35 employees in the factory, majority of whom are persons intellectual disabilities.
Here, they work, having a stable income; they have also increased their capabilities, making new friends, and live more dignified lives.
Last year, five female employees with intellectual disabilities became fashion models and were part of a photoshoot for Zurita – a Spanish women’s fashion brand, showcasing that beauty belong to All.
This year, more than 900 square meters of space was designed and built with the plan to increase the number of employees in the factory to 50, so that more persons with intellectual disabilities will have employment opportunities.


“You work, they also work. You have dreams, so do they. We are actually all alike.”
To Marina, there are more similarities than differences between persons with disabilities and those without.
Everyone’s passion for life and hope for the future are the same.

In recent years, Taicang’s idea to “build a well-off society holistically without leaving persons with disabilities behind” has allowed more persons with disabilities to gain employment and be included into society.

Marina has been observing these movement.
She happily embraces the various changes, while also considering how more people can join in breaking down the “invisible wall” between persons with disabilities and those without.

Marina says that changing the “hardware” is the easy part. What is difficult to change is the “software”.
Hope that more families of persons with disabilities will change their mindset and attitudes and encourage their family members with disabilities to go out of their homes to work.
Hope that more people will interact with persons with disabilities on an equal level, not to pity people with disabilities, but rather listen, understand, and provide them with more opportunities.

Let us all live freely under the sun,
pursue a better and more inclusive society,
We are on the way.


Reporter Xu Jing/Caption Chen Yichuan/Video

Our mission at Inclusion Factory is inclusion of people with disabilities into society; our team as a whole, also has to strive to create a diverse and inclusive environment for all our staff members. We are all different in terms of abilities, skills, countries and the provinces we come from; we have different educational and career background, we vary in age, gender and marital status among other differences.

Our team has significantly grown in the past few years. Now, we are already a team of 44 people! As our team has grown bigger, and we all focus on our own daily tasks, we don′t have time to reflect what it means for us as a team to work together towards our mission of promoting inclusion in China.

 

ICUnet helps capitalize on culture. We provide training, coaching, consulting and facilitation. Our customized portfolio includes localization of corporate culture programs, strategic workshops for global project roll outs, leadership skills for culturally diverse teams and overseas assignment training for hundreds of executives. We are a German, family owned business and our current Asia-Pacific clients include: Geely, BMW, Daimler, BASF, Beiersdorf, Brose, C-Trip, Siemens, Neusoft.

About CUnet

ICUnet helps capitalize on culture. ICUnet provide training, coaching, consulting and facilitation. Our customized portfolio includes localization of corporate culture programs, strategic workshops for global project roll outs, leadership skills for culturally diverse teams and overseas assignment training for hundreds of executives. We are a German, family owned business and our current Asia-Pacific clients include: Geely, BMW, Daimler, BASF, Beiersdorf, C-Trip, Siemens, Neusoft.

On the evening of May 30th, Taicang Inclusion Factory was honored to become winner of the “More than a Market Awards” for outstanding efforts in social engagement. After being the winner in 2016, Inclusion Factory won this year again with their project “Inclusion Advisory”.

Inclusion Factory has been engaged in facilitating the inclusion of people with intellectual disabilities into society through vocational training and meaningful employment. In 2018, the company launched the Inclusion Advisory with the aim to provide professional support to enterprises that are seeking to employ people with intellectual disabilities in their operations.

Flex, one of the world top 500 electronics manufacturer, was the first to heed the call. In 2018, Flex decided to venture even further. After an intensive cooperation with the Taicang Inclusion Advisory, the two partners created Flex’s Mechanical Inclusive Factory; currently hiring 10 people with intellectual disabilities working in a production line. After having received “More than a Market Award”, the Inclusion Advisory hopes to further promote its model of inclusive employment into companies around China. We hope that even more people with intellectual disabilities could benefit from it and find a meaningful employment.

The Taicang Inclusion Factory would like to thank Taicang municipal government and the Taicang Economy Development Area Bureau for awarding our project with the 2017 social responsibility award! 

The inclusion Factory project could not have become a reality without the strong cooperation, outstanding support and innovative spirit of the Taicang Local government!

Taicang is known for setting the standards for High-quality manufacturing and solid cooperation with foreign enterprises; Now, Taicang is also known for its leading role in promoting social inclusion and the creation of equal opportunities for people with disabilities in our society!

Thank you!
And may we have an even more prosperous 2018, together!

Video 视频短片

一圈,两圈,三圈。滕希将一个锥形弹簧套在螺钉上,弹簧由密到梳,他拧完最后一圈停手,微蹙的眉头解开,脸上绽出笑容,说了一句“YES!”

滕希是一名心智障碍者,今年是他在江苏太仓中德善美实业有限公司(下称“中德善美”)工作的第三年。这是他第一次组装排风扇。培训师花了大概半小时,教他把扇板、插杆、瓷座等逐步组装成排风扇部件,最后一步就是安装锥形弹簧的“天线”。

组装有6个步骤,对滕希来说并不容易。“他们都很聪明,但最大的挑战是记忆力。”培训师魏欣彤说,重复多次后可以完全掌握,但如果一段时间不做,教会的东西又会忘记。学会之后,他们完成一个零部件的时间大约是普通人的两到三倍。

下班后,滕希在朋友圈发了四张自己的工作照,说“培训师让我做新的活”。在中德善美,滕希还有二十个同为心智障碍者的同事。他们每天的工作时间不到7小时,月工资有1800多元,享有五险一金、双休日和法定假期。

Read more

Thilo Koeppe on CSR in China and the Industry 3.5 concept

 

(Article published in German Chamber magazine GCTicker, issue Oct-Nov 2016, download PDF)

by OLIVIA HELVADJIAN


Industry 4.0 focuses on increasing efficiency, quality and flexibility, while adopting cyber connectivity. Where Industry 4.0 puts CPS (cyber-physical systems) in its focus, the Inclusion Factory’s Industry 3.5 concept focuses on human talents namely Talents with Disabilities (TwD). The aim is to provide challenged individuals with the training to produce demanding cable harnesses and assemble a variety of products using specially designed fixtures and machinery.

The Inclusion Factory is an innovative example of consolidated action; as part of the Taicang roundtable, more than 80 partners joined forces to establish the workshop, which is the first institution in China to offer a meaningful employment solution to individuals who are intellectually or physically challenged under real market conditions. The workshop is based on a model established in Germany by Lebenshilfe e.V. and focuses on becoming an integral part of the industrial value chain of companies operating in and around Taicang.

GC Ticker team met with Thilo Koeppe, chairman of the board of directors, Taicang Inclusion Factory to further discuss CSR in China and the Industry 3.5 concept.

What are the challenges and advantages of beginning CSR projects in China?

It’s hard to speak about this topic generally but I can tell you a little from our experience. The main challenge of starting a larger scale CSR project was certainly getting the local authorities intrigued by the concept and its potential impact. For us, the most important assets are the employees. Without the help of the local disabled federation we would not have been able to identify our Talents with Disabilities. Furthermore, we required governmental support to provide our employees with regular work permits and social insurance coverage. Consequently, the backing of the local authorities is key. Once those hurdles were successfully negotiated, the CSR engagement became highly rewarding due to amazing public interest helping us tremendously in increasing the number of supporting organizations. Read more

12月3日是“国际残疾人日”,
其设立的目的,
在于促进人们对残障问题的理解,
动员人们支持维护残障人士的尊严、权利和幸福。

这一天,我们和中德融创工场的培训与发展总监玛丽娜聊了聊,
让她带着我们,去认识与了解“他们”:

 

作为德国企业在华建立的

首家残障人士公益工厂
中德融创工场自成立以来,
就致力于为智力障碍人士提供工作机会,
助力他们更好地融入社会。

如今,这里共有35名员工,其中大部分为智力障碍人士。
他们在这里参与工作,有稳定的收入,也提升了能力,交到了朋友,生活得更有尊严。
去年,这里的5名女性智力障碍员工作为时装模特,参拍了西班牙某时尚女装品牌的成衣展示片。
今年,这里又有900余平方米的新空间正式投入使用,并计划招募更多员工,将员工总数增加至50人,助力更多智力障碍人士实现就业。

“你工作,他们也工作;你有梦想,他们也有梦想。我们其实都一样。”
在玛丽娜看来,残障人和健全人之间,更多的是相似而非不同。
大家热爱生活、憧憬未来的心都是一样的。

这几年,太仓秉承着“全面建成小康社会,残疾人一个也不能少”的理念,让更多残障人士实现就业,融入社会。

这些,玛丽娜都看在眼里。
她欣喜地拥抱着种种变化,也思考着如何让更多人参与进来,一起敲掉残障人和健全人之间那堵“无形的墙”。
玛丽娜说,“硬环境”的无障碍并非难事,难的是实现“软环境”的无障碍。
希望更多残障人士的家人能改变想法、态度,鼓励他们走出家门参与工作。
希望更多人能平等地和残障人交往,不是去同情他们,而是倾听他们,理解他们,为他们提供更多机会。
让每一个生命在阳光下自由舒展,
去追求更美好更包容的发展环境,
我们,在路上。

记者 徐静/文 陈乙川/视频

我们中德融创工场的使命是推动残障人士的社会融合。而我们作为一个团队,也必须努力为我们所有的团队成员创造一个融合包容的环境。我们来自不同地区,大家在年龄、性别、教育背景、个人能力、技能水平等都不同。

此外,作为一个团队,我们近年来有了显著的发展。现在,我们已经是一个44人的团队了!随着我们的团队不断壮大,我们都专注于自己的日常工作,以至于我们没有时间去思考我们作为一个团队,共同努力实现在中国推动融合的使命到底意味着什么。

 

我们非常感谢ICUnet对这次精彩团建的大力支持,这次团建让我们有机会在工作环境之外相互了解,同时有机会反思我们公司的价值观,以及中德融创工场团队未来的发展。

关于CUnet

ICUnet专注于发挥文化在企业中的积极效用。ICUnet通过培训、教练、咨询和引导主持等方式,致力于提供诸如合资企业文化融合与落地、国际项目全球部署过程中减少文化阻力与摩擦、员工跨文化合作沟通技巧及国际化影响力提升、数百位高管的海外派遣培训等支持。ICUnet作为欧洲最大的跨文化相关服务供应商,秉承德国家族企业的品质与精神在亚太地区服务众多企业。

在5月30号晚的“同心 同力 同行” 的晚宴上,太仓中德善美实业再次荣获2019 年杰出“社会参与”奖项。

继2016年获奖后,本届中德善美再次以“融合咨询”项目再次获得此殊荣。中德善美一直致力于支持智力障碍人士通过就业融入社会,而融合咨询服务专为那些有意愿雇佣智力障碍员工的企业提供专业的支持服务。伟创力作为全球500强的电子制造商,也是第一响应号召的企业,在2018年,伟创力在中德善美的融合咨询的支持下,他们接受了密集的职业培训,打造出伟创力融合工厂,如今已经雇佣了10名智力障碍员工。中德善美获得这个奖项后,希望能继续前行,把我们的模式拓展到更多的城市,更多的企业,让更多的心智障碍人群受益。

太仓中德善美实业感谢太仓政府和经济开发区领导授予我们的项目以“2017年回馈社会奖! 中德善美能取得今天的成绩,离不开太仓政府强大的合作、卓越的支持和创新的精神。

太仓以制定高质量的制造标准和与外国企业的紧密合作而闻名;现在,太仓在促进社会包容和为残障人士创造平等机会方面也发挥了领导作用。

谢谢!

我们将一起创造更加繁荣昌盛的2018年!

 

一圈,两圈,三圈。滕希将一个锥形弹簧套在螺钉上,弹簧由密到梳,他拧完最后一圈停手,微蹙的眉头解开,脸上绽出笑容,说了一句“YES!”

滕希是一名心智障碍者,今年是他在江苏太仓中德善美实业有限公司(下称“中德善美”)工作的第三年。这是他第一次组装排风扇。培训师花了大概半小时,教他把扇板、插杆、瓷座等逐步组装成排风扇部件,最后一步就是安装锥形弹簧的“天线”。

组装有6个步骤,对滕希来说并不容易。“他们都很聪明,但最大的挑战是记忆力。”培训师魏欣彤说,重复多次后可以完全掌握,但如果一段时间不做,教会的东西又会忘记。学会之后,他们完成一个零部件的时间大约是普通人的两到三倍。

下班后,滕希在朋友圈发了四张自己的工作照,说“培训师让我做新的活”。在中德善美,滕希还有二十个同为心智障碍者的同事。他们每天的工作时间不到7小时,月工资有1800多元,享有五险一金、双休日和法定假期。

阅读更多

Thilo Koeppe关于中国企业的社会责任和工业3.5概念

 

(文章发表于德国商会出版的杂志GCTicker,创作日期2016年10-11月,下载PDF

作者:OLIVIA HELVADJIAN


工业4.0专注于提高效率,质量和灵活性,同时采取网络连接。不同于工业4.0的侧重点CPS(信息物理系统),工业3.5概念则注重于人才又称残疾人才(TwD)。其目的是培训残疾人士去生产线束以及利用机械装置去组装一系列的产品。

中德善美就是这种创新概念运用的典型;作为太仓欧商协会的一部分,80多家企业联手建立了这个工厂,它是中国第一家在当前市场条件下为智力或肢体残疾人员提供真正意义上的就业解决方案的机构。该工厂基于德国Lebenshilfe模型建立并且着力成为太仓及周边地区所在公司产业价值链的一部分。

GCTicker杂志团队就此采访了Thilo Koeppe,太仓中德善美实业有限公司的董事会主席,以进一步探讨中国企业的社会责任和工业3.5概念。

在中国开展企业社会责任项目的挑战和优势是什么?

很难去笼统的讨论这个话题,但我可以用一些我们的实际经验去说。对于启动一个规模较大的企业社会责任项目来说,最主要的挑战当然是让地方当局对这个概念感兴趣及其潜在影响。对我们来说,最重要的资产是员工。如果没有当地残疾人联合会的帮助,我们就无法找到残疾人才。此外,我们需要政府的支持,由此员工提供相关的工作许可和社会保险。因此,地方当局的支持是关键。一旦成功解决这些障碍,企业社会责任的参将变得非常有价值的,惊人的公众效益将帮助我们极大地增加支持组织的数量。 阅读更多

Read about us from the German Issue of China Daily (German)