For the last 6 months, Inclusion Factory management and our branding partner JungleFish have been working on updating and consolidation the branding for Inclusion Factory. 

While most clients might barely notice the changes, we want to explain the reasons for this step and how it can help us grow.

Formulate the Brand DNA

Everyone has a slightly different understanding about the company/brand they work for. However, to help unify this brand perception and to align on the fundamentals of the brand we needed to identify our brand’s DNA and the core elements, that make this brand unique.

Brand DNA

China Pioneer

Inclusion Factory is one of the first private companies in China that stands at the forefront of a social movement for inclusion. Other than foreign NGOs, the Taicang Inclusion Factory is a wholly Chinese enterprise and firmly rooted in China.

Business-minded

While we subscribe to a higher social purpose, our approach is business-like: we aim to understand our customers and deliver state-of-the-art quality in consulting and production. Other than state-run entities with the objective to facilitate inclusion, the Inclusion Factory is also a working enterprise that has to “earn its keep” – this helps us to better understand our clients. We adhere to industry-standards such as ISO 9002 and employ professional tools and methods such as SAP software and international management principles.

German roots

Founded by a group of German businesspeople, the Inclusion Factory is heavily influenced by a practical and solution-oriented mind-set. While the Inclusion Factory now serves multinational and domestic clients, the German flag colors in our brand identity remind us of our origins.

Better integrate and explain the expanded service offer

Since 2016 Inclusion Factory expanded their scope considerably: in addition to the Inclusion Factory workshop that provides assembly for industrial clients, the Inclusion Advisory (IA) offers consulting services to businesses for inclusion related topics and the Social Inclusion Academy (SIA) conducts seminars & workshop with the goal of educating professionals & the wider society. When these “business units” started in 2017 and 2018 we added logos to identify them but there was no guideline for the whole offering.

One of the key objectives of this branding was therefore, to define how this wider offering can be integrated in all corporate and marketing communication.

The most crucial step before going into design is to define the message: we needed first to understand the offering and then to define it verbally in both Chinese and English. The same tone of voice should be used when introducing one or more of the Inclusion Group entities. This task is of utmost importance. In our past work we found that many times, messaging was recreated each time for a new publication. Different versions co-existed, and it was up to the presenter which one they preferred. The result was work overload and miscommunication. 

With the new branding, we now introduce a clear messaging guideline, as well as a shared motto and objective. This avoids prevents confusion for both, clients and internal team and helps to establish the Inclusion Factory as a brand.

Simpler and clearer messaging and design

Apart from the consolidated messaging we also cleaned the house visually: the color blocks, which were a signature design element in past communication materials are gone as their playfulness conflicted with the increased professionalism of the organization.

Instead of managing 5+ colors, we have only to consider 2 now: a friendly muted green tone and a strong warm gray. This change makes a huge difference in perception, possibly bigger than changing the logo(s) would have made.

Say it with confidence

The typographic concept underwent a major change: a new corporate font with more confidence and character expresses the solidified standing of Inclusion Factory.  

The typesetting is, in general, much larger to highlight the message and also to make texts easier to read for people with visual impairment. On business cards, for example, the names are now set in 15pt font size compared to 8pt font size. Similar changes have been made to our presentation and website.

Growing pains

Changing a company’s branding is never easy and often is met with considerable resistance. New templates must be installed, new rules observed. And why? Because somebody didn’t like a specific color or font? Ideally the new branding not only better reflects who this company now is, but also makes it easier for the company to do business, and to convey its messages.

With the clear and confident communication of the integrated offering, Inclusion Factory can reach more potential clients and bring more People with Disabilities into the labor market.

 

This project is funded by

with design support by

在过去的6个月里,我们在中德融创工场白金合作伙伴太极鱼(JungleFish)的支持下,进行了一次华丽转身,如今面目一新的品牌形象重新出现在大家面前,可能你已经注意到这一点了。

通过这篇文章,我想你能了解到我们是如何成为了现在的我们。

打造品牌DNA

每个人对于公司或品牌的理解都略有不同。所以,我们需要构建一个品牌的DNA或核心元素,去统一品牌认知和形象,让品牌变得与众不同。

中德融创工场的DNA

中国融合企业开拓者

作为中国首批推动残障融合的民营企业之一,中德融创工场站在社会包容的前沿。相比很多国际非政府组织,中德融创工场是在中国注册的独资企业,且扎根在中国。

商业思维

虽然我们有更高的社会目标,但我们的模式是商业化的:我们的目标是了解我们的客户,并提供达到高水准的咨询和高质量的生产。

除了以促进包容性为目标的国有企业外,中德融创工场也是一个必须实现“盈亏平衡”的企业——这有助于我们更好地了解我们的客户的需求。我们遵循行业标准如ISO 9002,并采用专业的工具和方法,如SAP智慧排班系统和国际管理原则。

根源于德国

中德融创工场由一群德国商人创立,深受务实和解决方案导向思维的影响。尽管中德融创工场现在为跨国和国内客户服务,但我们品牌标识中的德国国旗颜色让我们想起了我们的起源。

更好地展现我们的新业务

自2016年以来,中德融创工场显著扩大了业务范围,除了为工业客户提供汽车和电器行业的零配件加工服务,我们还在2017年成立了融合咨询(Inclusion Advisory),在2018年成立了融合学院(Social Inclusion Academy)。

融合咨询是一项支持企业录用残障人士的专业服务,而融合学院是一个教育培训项目,通过教育来改变人们对残障的态度,通过培训提高残障人士的职场技能。

我们在过去设计了LOGO去区分它们,但对整个品牌还没有明确的指导方针。因此,本次品牌更新的关键目标之一,是定义如何将更统一广泛的产品整合到所有企业识别和营销传播中。

在进行设计之前,最关键的一步是定义。我们首先需要理解品牌,然后用中英文去定义它。当介绍中德融创网络的时候,不论是整体还是单个的品牌,我们都需要用相同语气去定义,这一步至关重要。在以往传播的时候,每次都会有新的版本出现,导致信息的混乱,结果是额外的工作和不畅的沟通。

随着新品牌的推出,我们有了明确清晰的信息传递指南及统一的标语目标。避免了我们内部团队和客户对品牌的混淆,也有助于打造中德融创工场品牌整体性。

更简单的设计风格

除了对品牌重新定义,我们对品牌颜色也进行了修改。再过去的设计中,我们选用了5个较鲜艳的色块。

但随着品牌日益增长,专业性与原来的趣味性两者相冲突,所以在此次品牌更新换代的过程中,我们选择了2个品牌色:友好柔和的绿色和庄重温暖的灰色。

这一改变相信已经给大家带来了不一样的感觉了,甚至可能比改变LOGO带来的影响更大。

更自信地展现自己

除此之外,我们对品牌字体也进行了变更。首先,我们选用了一种新的企业字体,更加自信且有个性的体现了中德融创工场的稳固地位。

其次,在排版设计中,字体比以往大得多,一方面能突出信息,另一方面也能让视力障碍者更容易去阅读。例如,在名片上,名字大小现在被设置为15号,而以前是8号,PPT和网站也做了类似的修改。

迈出成长的一步

改变一个公司的品牌从来都不是一件容易的事,而且经常会遇到相当大的阻力。必须使用新的模板,遵守新的规则。

既然如此我们为什么还要做这些改变呢? 只是因为有人不喜欢品牌的某一种颜色或字体? 事实上,新的品牌不仅能更好地反映公司的现状,还能让公司更容易推进商务活动,更容易与人沟通,更容易传达信息。

通过对品牌更清晰且自信的展示,中德融创工场可以接触到更多的潜在客户,为更多的心智障碍人士提供就业机会。

 

本项目由威尔斯提供资助

太极鱼提供设计支持