In order to fully understand the employees of Inclusion Factory, we specially planned the “Heartfelt Stories” series to share their stories with everyone. Through interviews with family members, we can understand the development process of employees and the journey of their families. We hope that this can be used to appeal to more people to respect and understand people with intellectual disabilities, and to provide help to their families so that they are no longer alone.

The protagonists of today’s story are Yao Shengjie—an employee of Inclusion Factory—and his parents.


Say no to isolation, refuse “captivity”

In 2003, Yao Shengjie was diagnosed with autism at the age of three.

It’s a tough diagnosis for any parents to hear, and Yao Shengjie’s parents also found it hard to accept the fact. Raising children with autism presents unique obstacles which must be carefully navigated.

The first obstacle his parents encountered is that while taking care of the hyperactive Shengjie, they must also take the initiative to find ways for relatives, friends, and people around them to understand and accept him. His father even gave up his job and took Shengjie to Nanjing to attend a half-year training program. He hoped that his child could live like a normal kid instead of being quarantined.

Later Shengjie went to a school for children with special needs. When it was time for him to graduate and enter society, the question came up: where was he supposed to go?

Work, for a lot of people with autism, is a challenge. After Shengjie entered his adulthood, his parents found Inclusion Factory through a friend’s recommendation. Today, Shengjie is 20 years old and has worked at Inclusion Factory for two years. He has become independent!

From zero social life to active socialization

After returning from Nanjing, Yao Shengjie’s father opened an auto repair shop in Kunshan to help support the family.

 The first year when Yao Shengjie was in the shop with his dad, he ignored the customers and did not communicate with anyone. He was sealed off in his own world.

“Ever since Shengjie went to work in Inclusion Factory, his whole personality has changed. He started to actively engage with others. When I am chatting to clients in the shop, he will introduce himself and tell my clients that he makes marbles and plastic balls. Our family was amazed.” Shengjie’s father said.

Whether it is a charity school or a training institution, Yao Shengjie was always the passive one. However, with his experience at Inclusion Factory, Shengjie grew both in school and society. With this change in living environment, his ability to communicate increased and his social skills grew. Finally, he was fully qualified for his job. Shengjie now has boosted his self-confidence, and he has begun to slowly open himself up.

Yao Shengjie’s mother said, “Before Shengjie went to work, his best relationship at home was with his father. Since he started working, he actually took the initiative to call me ‘Mom’ for the first time, grew closer to me, and took the initiative to communicate with me. Now he is willing to help me with housework, washing dishes and drying clothes and so on. He is a smart, capable and handsome young man. ”

Yao Shengjie’s progress and active socializing have put the whole family at ease. Everything used to have to be about him, but now their heavy hearts have been put to rest. Yao Shengjie’s parents expressed that the benefits they gain from him having a job far exceed any disability subsidies they receive from the government.

Confidence, patience, and perseverance are all indispensable

 

In addition to operating the shop, Yao Shengjie’s father is also responsible for driving him to and from work every day. He said, “There are 105 red lights, and a round trip takes an hour and a half. I have been doing this for three years. Now I can recall the route in my mind with my eyes closed. ”

When we asked what made him insist on the 30 km round-trip pick up and drop off every day, he replied, “Because he is my son, this is my responsibility and obligation. Even if it is hundreds of kilometers away, we are willing to send him to Inclusion Factory. ”

For a family, raising a person with intellectual disabilities is a long-term battle with no endpoint. It requires confidence, patience, and perseverance.

Translation is supported by Inktale Shanghai.

为了全面了解中德融创工场的员工,我们特别策划 「心故事」系列,向大家展示和分享他们的故事,通过“追本溯源”的家属访谈,了解员工的发展过程和家属的心路历程。希望可以以此呼吁更多人尊重理解心智障碍人士,为心智障碍者家庭提供帮助,让心智障碍家庭不再孤单。

今天故事的主人公是中德融创工场员工姚圣洁和他的父母。

拒绝隔离拒绝“圈养”

2003年,姚圣洁被确诊为自闭症,那年,他3岁。


世上并不存在一开始就很坚强的家长,姚圣洁父母也很难接受这一事实,带着问题成堆的自闭症孩子生活,必须要跨越一个又一个壁垒。


而姚圣洁父母要跨越的第一个壁垒,就是照顾多动的姚圣洁的同时,主动想办法让亲属,让朋友,让周围人理解和接纳姚圣洁,姚圣洁爸爸甚至放弃工作带姚圣洁去南京,在当地培训机构做了半年康复,就想让他可以和正常小孩一样生活,而不是被隔离起来。


后来在昆山的一所特殊学校上学,眼看着姚圣洁要毕业了,要步入社会了,那毕业后的姚圣洁还能去哪里呢?

工作,对于很多自闭症患者来说,是道难关。姚圣洁成年后,姚圣洁的父母通过朋友的介绍,来到了中德融创工场,今年20岁的姚圣洁,已经在中德融创工场工作2年了,成为一个可以独立工作的人!

从零互动到主动社交

从南京回来后,姚圣洁爸爸在昆山开了一家汽车维修店,以承担家庭的部分经济。


刚开始一年姚圣洁跟着爸爸在店里,不搭理客人,不和别人沟通,封闭在自己孤立的世界。

“ 自从姚圣洁来到中德融创工场后,他的性格完全变了,他开始主动和别人交流,当我在店里和客户在聊天的时候,他主动做起自我介绍,还和我的客户说自己是做弹珠、做塑料球的……我们一家人都很震惊。”姚圣洁的爸爸说道。

不管是爱心学校还是培训机构,姚圣洁始终处在一个被动的,被安排的状态。但是在中德融创工场,姚圣洁从学校走到社会,生活环境的改变,人际交流的增加,一步一步的成长,最后能完全胜任工作,姚圣洁的自信心变强了,他开始慢慢的打开自己。

姚圣洁的妈妈说:“姚圣洁上班前,在家里关系最好的就是爸爸,从他上班后,他竟然第一次主动叫我“妈妈”,主动亲近我,主动和我提要求,现在在家里也愿意帮我分担家务,洗碗晾晒衣服等等,他是个聪明能干帅气的小伙子。”

姚圣洁的成长进步,主动社交,让全家人的心态放平了,之前凡是都要围绕着他,如今悬着的心放下来了。姚圣洁的父母表示一份工作的收获远远大于从政府领到的残障补贴。

信心、耐心、恒心缺一不可

 

除了运营店铺,姚圣洁的爸爸还要负责每天接送姚圣洁上下班,他说道:“105个红灯,来回一个半小时,我跑了三年,现在闭着眼睛都可以在脑海中画出路线。”

当我们问道是什么让他坚持每天30KM来回接送,他是这么回答的:“因为他是我儿子,这是我的责任和义务。哪怕是几百公里远,我们也愿意送他来中德融创工场。”

陪伴心智障碍者,对一个家庭而言是场没有终点的持久战。他们需要足够的信心、耐心、恒心,去给予心智障碍者鼓励与帮助。